top of page
Search

Life Coaching Homework


So I am currently having sessions with a very lovely life coach from 'Quiet Connections' which is a very interesting experience because I get to choose the direction of the time we spend together. Something we have been exploring is my voice as an artist (after I finished laughing at the idea of calling myself an artist). After my thought-provoking session on Monday, I was left pondering what I want to say creatively to the world.

What is your voice? What do you want to express? This isn't a commission and you haven't been given a reference image to paint on some shoes. This isn't for the purpose of advertising your Transgender support group or for a Cornwall Pride event stall. This is you. Just you.

Honestly, I had no idea what to say and was a little concerned that a week would not be long enough to come up with something. Perhaps, I haven't allowed myself the time to slow right down and look inside myself lately because I have been worried about what I might find. Another part of me thought "what's the point in producing 'self indulgent' art?"

I produced my canvas "Take Time" last night and just followed my instinct. Firstly I knew it needed a dark night sky background. Then I knew it needed a bright white shape as a key feature. Then I knew it needed a lone androgynous figure in the light taking time for their-self. It happened quickly at first, then as I added the final details of the figure and the words, I felt myself slowing down and realising what I was expressing through the painting.

As a person who experiences mental ill health and struggles to find their place in the world at times, I quite often feel 'lost in space'. This isolated darkness can be all consuming if you let it take over, but allow yourself to step into some light and practice self-care. This is just one little canvas but has made me experience an emotional reaction.

Maybe this is the first step in finding my voice as an artist?




39 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 comentário


Annie Kenton
Annie Kenton
12 de jun. de 2022

I love the story behind what can, at first glance, appear to be a simple image. The strength in the triangle calls out to me and tells me that there is strength to be found in that space for self-reflection. I love that we can create these products using this image on your redbubble account too! https://www.redbubble.com/i/sticker/Take-Time-by-Elliot-Kenton/113545064.EJUG5

Curtir
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page